Glossary now up!

I am happy to announce that the glossary page is now up!

When I first started contemplating a blog one of the first things that came to mind was a glossary or chart with translations of common words found on beauty products. I imagined an international student going to DM by themselves for the first time looking for face wash and buying the pink bottle because it’s pretty, only to find weeks later that the pretty face wash is completely wrong for their skin. (OK, maybe I didn’t imagine it and that was me my first week in Germany…)

While some words are pretty straight forward (ex. poren, shampoo) some are less clear like “Dekorativ Kosmetik” or translate differently like “Makeup.” You might be thinking, “That’s what Google Translate is for!” And you’re right, if you have Wi-Fi or good cell reception but sometimes you don’t and sometimes you want to walk in, get what you need, and get out. If you know what you’re looking for it might be easier asking for help too.

So I hope this glossary helps you write your drugstore list and keep in mind it is a work in progress. I basically grabbed what I could find in my bathroom and picked out the keywords. If you have a suggestion or correction leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

