Review | P2 5 in 1 Protection + Care Base

P2 5 in 2 Protection + Care Base Fun fact: with the exception of Maybelline’s Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser here and there to blur my pores, I have never used a face primer in my life. In the last couple of months that I’ve become serious about makeup I’ve noticed that a lot of people use a primer to increase the longevity of their makeup. While perusing my favorite makeup message board I saw that practically every FOTD included a primer and I wondered if there was something I was missing. Well that was about to change.

I read about the P2 5 in 1 Protection + Care Base from this blog and she seemed to like, I thought we had similar skin so I went out and bought it for €5.95 at DM. Nicolish was one of the first blogs I ever started reading, I’ve bought a few products based on her posts, and she kind of inspired me to finally start my own blog so shout out to her. But enough story time, on to the review!

IMG_8009

I appreciate that P2 usually has an English description beneath the German one on their packaging, thanks P2! It contains SPF 15, moisturizes, mattifies, evens out skin surface, increases makeups staying power, and can be worn by itself. Sounds great. It doesn’t have a silicone base like Maybelline’s Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser and is light pink with a thick consistency. It does come out of a pump, although the packaging is weird to me since the lettering should be upside down when you store it or product won’t come out. Like the way it stands is bad for the pump if that makes sense, I tried but couldn’t get a good picture.

P2 5 in 2 Protection + Care Base

I hate it.

Plain and simple. It does mattify skin but I call bull on the evening out claim. I found that it actually accentuated the sebaceous filaments on my nose and chin and any patch of skin I may have missed while exfoliating. In fact I don’t think it moisturizes really, not that my skin felt dry and tight afterward but it just didn’t feel…well, moist. And my foundation looked more cakey than a pastry shop. On a stay-at-home day I even primed one side of my face and just moisturized the other side to compare them at the end of the day. Other than the accentuated filaments, I noticed no difference in makeup longevity.

Trust me I gave it the benefit of the doubt and I was using a foundation by P2. I thought maybe I was using my beauty blender wrong, I was putting too much on, I was putting too little on, I was spreading it wrong, I should only put it on uneven spots, it doesn’t go well with my moisturizer. I tried to change every single one of these factors alone, together, in combinations, I tried ya’ll, I tri-i-ied. How can emphasize the word “try” more? I gave this product so many chances I’ve used up half of it (man, 30ml is a lot).

The one good thing that came out of this was the realization that I do not have oily skin as I previously thought. Well this product and another that I’ll talk about later. I realized I have combination, normal to oily, skin and maybe this product is suited better for actual oily, oily skin.

So now it’s sitting there… six euros down the drain for me and my faith in primer gone. My final consolation came a few nights ago when I was having a mini Jaclyn Hill marathon and she said she doesn’t use primers, doesn’t believe in them, thinks they’re a scam. Maybe I’m just lucky and don’t need one and I think I’ll keep it that way (unless I find €100 on the ground then I’ll try the Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water and MAC Prep + Prime Fix+…) Bis gleich and don’t forget to follow me!

2 thoughts on “Review | P2 5 in 1 Protection + Care Base

  1. Pingback: Review | Essie Leave No Trace | Moscato and Mascara

  2. Pingback: 2015 Fails

Leave a Reply

