Review | Alverde Sun Kissed Highlighter

Alverde Sun Kissed Highlighter

 

Have I at all mentioned that I’m obsessed with highlighters? I subscribe to the Young, Wild and Polished school of highlighting (a fact that I tweeted and she liked, woot!), just watch her and you’ll understand. My point is, you may or may not be seeing a lot of highlighters in the coming posts starting with this bronzed beauty.The Alverde Sun Kissed Highlighter had been on my wish list for….well ever since I discovered it yet I could never bring myself to get it since I already had the Alverde Rose Tinted Highlighter. One day I caved and I have no regrets.

Both are €2.99 each at DM by the way.

The Alverde Sun Kissed Highlighter is a liquid, golden bronze highlighter that’s meant to give you a healthy bronze glow. Perfect for summer time, tanned skinned and a departure from my silver and pink highlighters.

Alverde Sun Kissed Highlighter

The small bottle contains 10ml of liquid highlighter which is applied using the little doe foot applicator. The bottleneck is just big enough for the applicator to fit and prevent excess highlighter from coming out or spilling.

Using the doe foot applicator you dot the areas you want to highlight and blend. And blend because it’s pretty pigmented and will look very unnatural, I mean relatively “unnatural” when it comes to makeup, if you don’t blend. In fact, don’t even use that much haha. Start with a couple of dots, blend, and build it up if you like.

Alverde Sun Kissed Highlighter

I didn’t blend it out entirely so you can see the finished result is very true to the color in the bottle. Warm, bronze: summer in a bottle, especially perfect for olive skin tones like mine. I’m a C4 and I tan easily so I’ll be choosing this over my RL de Young Baked Highlighter all summer.

I’ve been wearing it over a tinted moisturizer, it is way too hot for any kind of foundation for me, and blending it with my fingers and getting great results. I wore it with a liquid foundation once and it just sat on my skin so that could be a negative, I have to test it with a better foundation (such a love-hate relationship with that foundation…). Perhaps using a stipple brush will help as well, I have to test that out too.

Overall, I am super duper happy with this highlighter and even want to buy a backup in case Alverde or DM ever think of discontinuing it. It is such a beautiful color for such a low price. I sure do recommend it!

Bis gleich, Happy 4th of July to everyone! and don’t forget to follow 🙂

Leave a Reply

