Review | Essence XXXL Longlasting Lipgloss Matt Effect

Essence XXXL lipgloss matt

Greetings from Starbucks! That’s the blogger dream, right? Going to “your” Starbucks or favorite coffee house, sip on a coffee for a few hours, looking effortlessly fabulous, while you write for a living… Except I have no internet at home and am visiting the Starbucks next to work to use their internet and sip on my grande Pike Place with plenty of room and three Splendas while I catch up on the blogging world.

Anyway, I won’t bore you anymore with my coffee order and will jump into this Essence lipgloss review.

Since the Essence lipsticks have proved quite impressive I tried their XXXL Longlasting Lipgloss Matt Effect in the color 05 Velvet Rose. The matt effect lipgloss comes in three colors and each one costs €2.29, correct me if I am wrong.

I had seen this lipgloss every time I went into stores but when I saw it on /r/MUAEurope on Reddit I finally decided to buy it. I expected this matt lipgloss to be dry and behave like a liquid lipstick, but for the price I wouldn’t be disappointed and at least it was a pretty color.

Essence XXXL lipgloss matt

On the left is the side view of the Essence lipgloss applicator and on the right is the applicator for my concealer, typical doe foot.

First thing I noticed, and that surprised me, was the applicator. The best I can describe it is a narrow, furry spatula a few millimeters wide. I wouldn’t say it’s difficult to work with but it’s also not super easy. With a traditional doe foot you can easily control the gloss with the slanted tip/top and that tip can easily get the corners of your mouth. The Essence applicator has a flat, long, and bigger area you use to apply the lipgloss which does take getting used to. However, I do like that the spatula-like shape, it allows you to easily “scrape” or wipe away excess product.

Essence XXXL lipgloss matt

The gloss itself is creamy and very thick; the flat spatula sure does come in handy with this texture. It does come off as matte, it is comfortable to wear but you can definitely feel it on your lips, it is by no means lightweight thanks to how creamy it is. If you’re wearing this, you will know, it is not a lip product that is so comfortable you forget you have it on. On the other hand, I didn’t find it to be 100% matte, maybe more like 90%,  it didn’t dry well and when it did it looked cracked hence I wouldn’t recommend actually wearing it for long periods of time without reapplication. (Wipe off the old product first and then reapply.)

The color can’t be argued though. Pink lips are my favorite and this Velvet Rose is a gorgeous addition to my collection, even if I can’t wear it all day at work I can still run errands with it. Do I recommend it? Sure. Your collection won’t be any better or worse without it, it’s a middle of the road product for me. I did hear that the other colors are better and I will get back to you on that. If you’ve tried any of them, let me know your thoughts below!

Thank you for reading, bis gleich, thank you for keeping up with my sporadic posting, and don’t forget to follow!

 

3 thoughts on “Review | Essence XXXL Longlasting Lipgloss Matt Effect

Leave a Reply

