Review | Essence Get BIG Lashes!

Essence Get Big Lashes Mascara

Greetings from the library down my street! Still working on getting internet at home and I am ever so grateful that my city has an extensive, techy, and wonderful public library system. Sometimes a girl needs a break from Starbucks. Yup, I just said that.

I’m also saying I found a mascara that I dislike. Keep reading.

Essence Get Big Lashes Mascara

Rarely do I find products that are a big N-O for me. I like to tell myself that I find ways to make things work. I may whine, but I make it work. After all, I did pay for it and I’m going to use it. This is an exception.

The Essence Get BIG Lashes! Volume Curl Mascara looked so promising in its chunky, colorful, red tube. Normal price is €2.25 but I bought mine when Rossmann was having a sale and only paid about €1.58. For the price, I could and did overlook the brush. It has a curved brush, that’s ok, with traditional fiber bristles, that’s less ok (I’m a fan of plastic brushes). It has a curved brush that I had no experience with and quickly learned to use, I think.

The first time I used this mascara I remember thinking: “This is perfect. I can’t wait to use it again and write about it. Oh my. Yes!” My lashes held a curl, my lashes had extra curl, my lashes had volume. That was short lived.

get big curl lashes-2

 

 

When you pull the wand out, there is an excessive amount of product on the brush that needs to be wiped off. The formula is fast drying but does not build very well, and I love to build up my mascara. My lashes weren’t clumping or getting hideously spidery, but I was getting little clumps of mascara on my spindly looking lashes.

Curl? What curl? Where did my curl go?

Volume? I guess.

Thickening? Don’t make me laugh. (One cosmetics website claims its a thickening mascara.)

I’ve been using this mascara for two weeks straight, telling myself I could make it work. Two days ago I faced the ugly truth, that I could not make it work, and tossed it. It was a sad moment. Perhaps it’s a matter of taste. My lashes require a lot of curling before mascara so maybe this mascara would work for someone whose lashes aren’t sticking straight down. If you’ve tried it, let me know how it worked for you 🙂

Bis gleich and don’t forget to follow!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Review | Essence Get BIG Lashes!

  1. Pingback: Review | Manhattan Supersize False Lash Look Mascara |

Leave a Reply

