Review | Maybelline Color Elixir

Maybelline Lipgloss

Have you ever picked up a product, were super excited, and arrived home to open it and find it’s false? Yeah, I just don’t know how else to introduce this product.

But I guess when you only pay $1.50 for a Maybelline product at Big Lots you can’t be too mad. You read that right, Big Lots. Once in a while someone on /r/RedditLaqueristas will post a nail polish haul from Big Lots, and not your inexpensive drugstore brands but Revlon and L’Oreal, and when I saw there was one on my way to work I decided to pay a quick visit.

That’s when I picked up this Maybelline…something. It had not name, no packaging, not even the color is written on it and I thought it was a pretty lipstick and just grabbed it. I left for work where I tried to apply it but could not get it to open! After some pulling and pushing and twisting and turning I was in for a surprise.

Maybelline Color Elixir

It’s a lipgloss! A Maybelline Color Elixir lipgloss to be exact (thank you Google).

After the “Ohhhhh” and “Ahhhhhh” moment it was time to test it. I’ve never used Maybelline products other than their mascaras however I did have slightly high expectations. Which were met. The initial application was awkward, the applicator is like a doe foot but wider and flatter and bent at the base, and it went on kind of thick. I was expecting it to be sheer but it was actually opaque and very pigmented.

Maybelline Color Elixir

The applicator was, for lack of a better word, furry and while it was good at packing on color it was no bueno when I tried to use it to wipe some off of the excess gloss. Applicator and excess gloss aside, I quite liked this lipgloss. I’m constantly sipping on coffee and water throughout the day and the color stayed put through it all although I can’t say that about the gloss.

Let me clarify: it stayed put for a few hours until lunch. I didn’t expect it, or any lip product for that matter, to survive lunch hence I’m not docking it any points. Any lip product that can survive coffee and non-stop water with minimal fading though, that is a keeper.

Regular price for these is $8.99 (based on Ulta’s website) so mine was a total steal but let’s pretend I paid full price: It’s a nice product and I like it but not nine-dollars-like-it and there is nothing unique about the color so if you can find something similar from Essence, Wet n Wild or Catrice (who is including a similar product in their fall selection) then get that instead.

On un unrelated note: the packaging is cute but kind of gimmicky, don’t you think?

Bis gleich and don’t forget to follow!

5 thoughts on “Review | Maybelline Color Elixir

  1. Ooh I forgot that they’re moisturizing! Don’t get me wrong, I like them but not $9-like-them haha If I werent on a budget I might get one or two more 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

