Review | E.L.F. Shadow Lock Eyelid Primer

E.L.F. Shadow Lock Eyelid Primer

We all know the saying, “You don’t know what you have until it’s gone” and I’m applying it to the product I want to review today. Following my last post I decided it was not fair to destroy the featured product and gently rave about about its competitor and then deny the latter its own post. So here I am, formally raving about the E.L.F. Shadow Lock Eyelid Primer.

I mean no harm when I say the following but unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past few years then you know and recognize the E.L.F. Shadow Lock Eyelid Primer. It comes in two variations: the white tube above and the nude tube below.

E.L.F. Shadow Lock Eyelid Primer

At a mere $2 each everywhere, these are a real steal. They have less product than the Essence I Love Stage Eyeshadow Primer yes, however they work ten, twenty times better in my opinion. They come with a doe foot applicator that carries the right amount of product, maybe less and I prefer that because as with all makeup it is easier to build up than to take off.

E.L.F. Shadow Lock Eyelid Primer

This is the white primer heavily swatched on bottom and blended on top. The camera didn’t catch the glitter scattered throughout unfortunately. It doesn’t have giant pieces of glitter but it is noticeable and I would not recommend it for matte shadows.

primers-3

This is the nude primer, heavily swatched on bottom and blended on top. It contains no glitter and I do like this one better than the white one. Both have the same consistency, a strange dry-feeling cream. It’s thin but not runny, and doesn’t feel wet like the Essence primer.

E.L.F. Shadow Lock Eyelid Primer

For what it’s worth, here are swatches of the same three shadows with each primer. White above and nude below. Those who follow my blog should know by now that swatches are not forte.

E.L.F. Shadow Lock Eyelid Primer

Looking at it now, maybe these primers don’t really intensify shadows (one of the beauties of blogging is that you discover things as you write) or maybe it’s my horrible swatching skills. Nonetheless the true strength of these primers is their longevity. I was recently at an event that ran from nine in the morning until ten at night for which I wore the white primer under a Makeup Revolution smokey eye and I had minimal creasing, if any actually, by the end of the night.

The vast majority of the time that I use these primers they work wonderfully. Everything stays put, stays in place, and looks flawless. I didn’t say every single time because there have been occasions when they didn’t perform but for a) the price point and b) making them battle against the summer Californian sun I won’t fault them (not to mention I was wearing my Sleek i-Divine Del Mar palette which I still can’t get to work for me).

All in all, why would you not pick these up? Yet as I wrote that question I instantly thought of skin tones that may not pair with these, but you understand. These are a bargain steals that everyone should try and then probably fall in love with. Silly me thought I could find these in Germany and didn’t pack any, much to my regret. I didn’t know what I had until it was gone. Lesson learned; I will make sure to pack ten next time I move abroad.

 

 

Bis gleich and don’t forget to follow!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review | E.L.F. Shadow Lock Eyelid Primer

Leave a Reply

