Review | E.L.F. Studio Blush Palette in Dark

E.L.F. Blush Palette in Dark

Blush is easily one of my favorite makeup items, my recent makeup count will attest to that, as it allows you to instantly change your look with just a swipe. Easier than eyeshadow, admit it. A dark mauve and you look like autumn, a fresh peachy-pink and you feel like spring, a hot pink and you’re ready to conquer Friday night. Hence blush palettes are becoming my go-to and I go to the E.L.F. Blush Palette most, sort of.

Before I became a makeup addict, I only owned one blush and it was from the E.L.F. Essentials line and yes, I did use the little brush it comes with. And I still have it and if I didn’t buy blush at the rate I do I would probably still be using it. Hence, when E.L.F. released this blush palette I ran to the store and stared at it for the next fifty visits. Typical me. A few weeks ago I finally picked up the E.L.F. Blush Palette in Dark.

E.L.F. Blush Palette in Dark

It’s a small, matte, black, sleek case with a real mirror inside. The Dark palette contains 3 mattes (they have the slightest of shimmer in pan that doesn’t show on cheek) and one shimmer (bottom left) that all pop out of the case so you can mix and match them with the Light palette or the foundation palette, etc etc.

I always have trouble opening it; most of the time I stick my tweezers in the clasp to open it up, if I have tweezers around. Popping each tray out of the palette is no breeze either and I scratched a small chunk out of a blush attempting to do so.

E.L.F. Blush Palette in Dark

Another thing I am not too crazy about, and I do hope the packaging is lying, each tray or each blush only contains 1g of product (when all other E.L.F. blushes are at least 4g). Taking into account the forty other blushes I have I can’t complain about it this however I wanted to point this out for those of you who factor the dollar per gram ratio into your purchasing decision. Ok, maybe I’m the only that does that.

There is one shade that I won’t too much and I’m tempted to break a corner and see how deep the pan is….

Anyway, I can’t complain because these are so pigmented! Apologies for the yellow lighting and my bad swatches (aren’t you used to those by now?), these don’t have names but the bottom swatch corresponds with the top left blush, and they go clockwise.

E.L.F. Blush Palette in Dark

These blushes are quite pigmented, the darker shades more so,  yet blend-able. That’s not to say you can use a heavy hand or don’t need to tap off the excess, but a quick dip of the brush will do the job. I apply this around 6am and they’re still there when I leave work at 4pm. To apply these I borrowed a technique from Jaclyn Hill, I’m pretty sure so correct me if I’m wrong, and I lightly tap my brush on my cheek where I want the color to go on and then I blend.

I do reach for this on a daily basis hoping to use it but to be honest the pigmentation sometimes scares me and then I reach for a safe bet like my Catrice blush. Womp. Still really enjoying this palette!

This palette on it’s own is great year round, as E.L.F. claims, and even more so if you mix and match it with the Light palette. The case is sturdy enough to throw in a purse or luggage and the pans are in there tight, the whole thing is shut tight! No worries there. This palettes only costs $6 anywhere E.L.F. is available and I think it’s one of those products that is perfect if you’re looking to grow your blush collection and shade variety on a small budget.

Bis gleich and don’t forget to follow! (Instagram: @moscatoandmascara)

 

2 thoughts on “Review | E.L.F. Studio Blush Palette in Dark

Leave a Reply

