Review | Dermalogica Clear Start Oil Clearing Matte Moisturizer

Dermalogica Clear Start Oil Clearing Matte Moisturizer

Two years ago one of my co-workers started esthetician school and soon after she would not stop talking about the brand Dermologica. I was curious but not interested in a brand that sounded like the next Proactive. Fast forward to about two months ago when I received a Dermologica sample in my Ipsy bag. The Dermologica Clear Start Oil Clearing Matte Moisturizer really piqued my interest in the brand and it’s claims.

 

Dermalogica Clear Start Oil Clearing Matte Moisturizer

The description on the back reads:

This ultra-light, non-greasy hydrating formula controls oily areas like the nose and forehead for an all-over matte finish. 

As someone who has oily patches, especially in the summer, I was excited to see what this product could do for me. I was excited to finally achieve full matte-ness!

The product is like every other moisturizer, so nothing to report there. Unlike other moisturizers I’ve used though, the consistency of this one is thinner and verging on runny. True, it is light weight and non-greasy but it never felt fully dry on my face. Furthermore, whether I was using liquid or powder foundation, this moisturizer shined through.

Dermalogica Clear Start Oil Clearing Matte Moisturizer

In other words, it didn’t mattify my skin but it made me look oily from the get-go! I tried using this over my usual moisturizer and on it’s own but the result was the same. I stopped using it thinking, hoping that it was the heat and my sweat making me look oily and I picked it up again recently thinking it might work now that I get ready in the early, chilly morning. No.

One of the reasons this product was such a fail for me is that it’s one part of a line of products that are meant to be used together. Notice it says “Step 3” at the top? Because it is part of Dermalogica’s Clear Start system, a system of products that work best when used all together. It irks me that Ipsy would send out a product like this, truly. Not that I expect them to send me an entire line of skin care, but if they’re going to send out a piece of a puzzle why not send out the very first piece?

Did I have too high hopes for this product? Is it my skin that is the problem? I seem to be having very little luck with skin care products lately; at least I didn’t pay full price. Hope someone had a better experience than me.

Bis gleich and don’t forget to follow! (Instagram: @moscatoandmascara)

3 thoughts on “Review | Dermalogica Clear Start Oil Clearing Matte Moisturizer

  1. Pingback: 2015 Fails

Leave a Reply

