Review | Wet n Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Reserve Your Cabana

Wet n Wild Reserve Your Cabana

Have you ever come across a product shrouded in hype, yet was totally underwhelming in store? That was my experience with Wet n Wild‘s Color Icon Bronzer in Reserve Your Cabana. One way or another we have all heard of this, we have all seen this hundreds of times at the pharmacy, yet I was not convinced to buy it until I had Walgreens coupon. I know, it’s cheap enough as it is, and worth every penny!

Whether it’s YouTube, MakeupAlley or Reddit, this “bronzer” that is actually a highlighter is all over the place with raving reviews. Naturally I wanted to try it, but every time I picked it up in store it just looked bland, boring, unexceptional. I probably picked it up and put it back five times before making up my mind.

Wet n Wild Reserve Your Cabana

Don’t mind the loose powder.

I mean, look at it! It looks more like a finishing powder than a highlighter. No matter how many reviews and swatches I looked at I could not believe it until I bought it for myself. Even up close I can’t see any shimmer or highlighter properties hence I was still skeptical after getting under the lid.

The packaging is plain and simple. It contains a whopping 13g of product, SPF 15, and an expiration date. (I don’t always follow those expiration dates…but I will with this.) Normally I use a fan brush for highlighter, but for this I use a brush that is stiffer as I find the powder packed in tightly. If that makes sense.

Wet n Wild Reserve Your Cabana

I did a heavy swatch for this and in retrospect a lighter swatch would have done. It has a light shimmer effect which is somewhat visible above.  The keyword for this highlighter: subtle. This is a perfect everyday highlighter that gives you just enough glow but not a diva-like shimmer. Ok, I am a fan of the diva shimmer but for those days when I feel down-to-earth, this is what I use. It can be built up, but I have other products for that.

It is a great highlighter for every day of the year, every occasion, and probably suits every skin tone. For $3.99, how could you not buy it? Worth. The. Hype.

Bis gleich and don’t forget to follow! (Instagram: @moscatoandmascara)

6 thoughts on “Review | Wet n Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Reserve Your Cabana

  1. I love this product. Have you tried to use it lightly all over your face as a powder? It gives you skin a beautiful sheen in this way also. It can also be used to brighten the under eye area. This is a fabulouss powder at a very reasonable price. I have posts on this and other Wet and Wild products. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

