Review | Maybelline Baby Skin

Maybelline Baby Skin

During the month of October I rediscovered Maybelline’s Baby Skin and decided to to a rediscovery and appreciation post. This product has been around for a few years now and with so many products have come out since that I think it’s time to give this little tube some love. After all, it is the only primer I have ever cared for.

To reiterate, the Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser came out about three years ago that I remember. I found it online when it was only available in southeastern Asia or something like that and was incredibly bummed I couldn’t pick it up at Target. When it did arrive at Target I swooped in like a hawk.

Maybelline Baby Skin

The packaging is a small aqua colored squeeze tube, pretty standard, and contains 20ml of product. Current retail price is $3.79 on Target’s website. I like that it is a squeeze tube and not a pump because you can control how much product comes out.

Before I continue, I am very aware that this is a love-it or hate-it product. Some people love it, some people hate it, I’m somewhere in the middle, and I think the application has something to do with that.

Maybelline Baby Skin

The product itself is a clear gel, it is a thick-ish, silicone-y primer as seen on my top finger. I tried to put some on my middle finger to show the consistency once it is spread out, I think you can kind of see it. Nothing on my bottom finger haha. Some notes:

  1. This is not an all over primer, this is a pore filler and should only be used in spots with visible pores.
  2. This primer needs to be tapped on, even pressed into those porous areas. Not just swiped and blended on.
  3. Portion control is key. You don’t need a ton of product. In fact the dot shown on my finger above is a little more than enough for my cheeks and my forehead.

I think these are three reasons why some people hate this product or “can’t get the hang of it.” I was one of them. Some days it worked and some days I thought it was a waste of money. Knowing what I know now, I am back in love with it and the way it smoothes my pores and, when I don’t use too much product, the way it controls oil and shine. Since I started using this again I have reached less for blotting papers or translucent powder throughout the day. True story.

Some people say it’s a dupe for Benefit’s Porefessional. I’ve used both but I can’t tell you if it is or isn’t. I can tell you that it works great for, most of the time, and if you’re looking for a drugstore pore eraser you may want to give this a try.

What have you rediscovered lately?

Bis gleich and don’t forget to follow! (Instagram: @moscatoandmascara)

 

9 thoughts on “Review | Maybelline Baby Skin

  1. I’m actually really interested to try it! I love pore filling primers!

    In my latest blog post I picked up the L’Oreal Base Magique which I’ve used a little and loved! Though I much prefer this packaging.

    Krys xo

    Elysianlight.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. i have this and have tried to give it it’s moment to shine on several different occasions – i’m incredibly prone to cystic acne and find that as soon as i put this on, within minutes i can feel a hard, itchy, painful bump forming somewhere in the area of application – i’ve since passed it on to my sister, who loves it – so i agree, there’s a mixed market when it comes to this product – glad it worked for you! i’ve found that the Revlon PhotoReady primer works best for me – keeps me matte, doesn’t break me out, and keeps my foundation or concealer in place all day! if you’d like to check out my full review, you can do so here – https://affordablegorgeous.wordpress.com/2015/10/14/hot-or-not-revlon-photoready-perfecting-primer/

    Like

Leave a Reply

