Review | Essence I Love Extreme Volume Mascara

Essence I Love Extreme Volume Mascara

It seems I unintentionally made it mascara week but that is what happens when your mascara craps out on you and you are scrambling to find a new one. Recently my beloved Manhattan mascara dried up out of nowhere forcing me to find a new mascara, in the middle of the week. Well the IT Cosmetics mascara was a fail, on to Essence and hopefully better luck.

This is the Essence I Love Extreme Volume Mascara which receives plenty of favorable if not rave reviews. I actually bought it months and months ago at a Rossmann in Germany when mascaras were 30% off, and if there is ever a time to try new mascaras it’s when they’re on sale.

Oh, speaking of the price. Pre-discount this was €2.75 or $2.96 USD today, but if you’re in the U.S. you can get it at Ulta for $4.99. Thanks import taxes and Ulta.

Essence I Love Extreme Volume Mascara

This mascara promises one thing and one thing only: extreme volume. Let me take a moment to appreciate the simple, singular promise of this product.

Does anyone else get irritated by products that promise twenty different things or even the same two things ten times but worded differently? Thank you Essence for keeping it real. And simple.

Essence I Love Extreme Volume Mascara

The brush, like the claims, is simple. No thrills or frills about the shape, just many, many bristles that apply the right amount of mascara to lashes. With the majority of mascaras I need to scrape of excess product on the bottle, when I do that with this brush, there is hardly any excess to be scraped.

What matters most though is that while it did fulfill its volumizing promise, this is not the mascara for me. There are two things that I look for in a mascara: its ability to hold a curl and to build on itself and this mascara falls short in both areas. Not that I blame it, its sole purpose is to give volume and it did but personally, I need more. Though I must say I do like this for my lower lashes.

If you have naturally curly or easy to curl lashes and you’re looking for volume then this may be something you want to look at. Beware of transfer though! Before my lashes lost their curl, I noticed some black smudges on my brow bone.

Bis gleich and don’t forget to follow! (Instagram: @moscatoandmascara)

 

6 thoughts on “Review | Essence I Love Extreme Volume Mascara

Leave a Reply

