Review | Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara

Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara

I have a confession to make: high end mascaras do not get my engine going. It is not that I am a drugstore snob but I cannot justify spending a gas tank’s worth of money on a tube of mascara. Especially now that I know how to apply falsies and mascara is merely a formality. So when Ipsy included the Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara in my bag a few months back, I was pretty happy.

Although I cannot tell you where, I have heard good things about this mascara. One of you even left me a comment about how good this mascara is, and Smashbox generally receives good reviews. Who isn’t happy with free-ish high end samples?

Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara

Clearly, this is a sample size. Packaging is standard, nothing special or gimmicky about it. When you pull the brush out it carried just enough product and you don’t have to wipe away any excess except on the tip. The brush itself reminds me of the Maybelline Great Lash in shape and style, but much bigger and the rows of bristles are closer.

Personally, I like the mini size as it makes it easier to work with the size of the brush. I can’t imagine using this brush with a longer wands, but that is just me.

Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara

Not to go against the grain here but I didn’t like it that much. I have been using it for a month and I do not see anything special about it that could justify the $22 price tag of a full size tube. By mistake, Ipsy sent me three of these and as much as I would have liked to hoard them I gave them to friends.

As was mentioned to me in a comment, this does not curl one bit and I need some kind of curling action. It does give some volume but not much length and it did not build particularly well on my lashes. My lashes didn’t clump or get spidery, but the product just didn’t build well and I could see tiny balls of mascara on the sides of my lashes. I need to photograph these things more.

As with any mascara that does not work on my lashes, all is not lost and I still use it on my lower lashes. Occasionally I will use it as the last step on my top lashes, quickly and lightly brushing it on the tips of my lashes to add some length or even as the mascara prior to adding falsies. Sorry Smashbox :/

Bis Gleich!

9 thoughts on “Review | Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara

  1. Ipsy sent me extra bags by mistake too! Yes, it is AWFUL at curling (I don’t think I’ve ever had a mascara that literally makes my curled eyelashes go straight) and I wouldn’t purchase the full size but it’s a pretty comfortable formula so I’m glad to have the sample. I did end up trying Roller Lash (I said I would tell you what I thought) and it is definitely something I would recommend either purchasing or receiving a sample first. I like the mascara quite a bit, but it takes some getting used to. I will write a full review soon! Sorry this didn’t work out for you! I really like the Loreal Voluminous Carbon Black mascara…the wand is somewhat similar to this, a bit smaller, and the formula is really nice. I definitely recommend giving that a try 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

