Review | Alverde Rose Tinted Highlighter

Alverde Rose Tinted Highlighter

Today I want to take it way back to one of my first, if not my very first, highlighters. Many say this is a drugstore dupe for Benefit’s Highbeam, having not cared for my sample of it years ago I will let you be the judge of that. After rediscovering it, and these pictures, last week I figured it was time to share this little hidden treasure.

I cannot recall how I heard of this or how I found it but when I did, it immediately went on my wish list. This is from the brand Alverde, exclusive to DM, and it was €2.95. Sadly, it is only available in countries with DMs (Germany, Czech Republic, Austria) but if you do find yourself in one of those I highly recommend having a look or two.

Alverde Rose Tinted Highlighter

The Alverde Rose Tinted HighlighterΒ is a pink liquid highlighter that comes in a small glass bottle with green cap and small doe foot applicator. It contains 10ml of product and says:

“Creates a silky shimmer on the skin.”

Looking at these pictures I took back in May I remember that my swatching skills were even worse back then…

Alverde Rose Tinted Highlighter

Even though I was enamored with it, it took me some time to use it because a) I was new to highlighter and b) it was liquid. The directions say to dot it in desired areas and blend. I say, dot and blend as you go because this formula dries fast and if you are not quick enough you will have harsh highlight dots/lines on your face. I usually dab it around with my finger and that works fine.

This is not one to be worn with any type of powder, setting or otherwise. If you powder over it the highlight is gone, if you powder under it then it will cling to the powder and move it around and it is very visible. I did the latter and tried to salvage it with a powder highlighter on top and that did not work.

If you have not used liquid highlighters then this can be tricky at first but worth it I would say. In U.S. dollars it is about $3.50, it is a pretty light pink, and it is sure to last a good while. Again, if you ever find yourself near a DM I would instantly pick this up and maybe even a backup.

Bis gleich!

4 thoughts on “Review | Alverde Rose Tinted Highlighter

Leave a Reply

