My Morning Skincare Routine

morning skincare header

Happy Monday ladies and gents! Today I want to share with you my current skincare routine for mornings to change things up from posting nothing but reviews and reviews. Creating a skincare routine requires time, research, an understanding of your skin, and testing. Thus, after weeks of looking at different routines and slowly incorporating new products I have come up with the following simple morning routine. Later this week I will have my night time routine up as well.

Taking care of our skin is something we all know we should do yet something we probably neglect, to varying degrees. I know I did. But as I approach my 25th birthday and after overcoming a couple of pimples last month, I am changing that. It is not just a pimple that sparked my new commitment to a skin care routine; I want my skin to age well, I want my makeup to wear and look better, and I want to protect my skin from irreversible damage. Thus, after weeks of looking at different routines and slowly incorporating new products I have come up with the following simple morning routine.

morning skincare

I start every morning by washing my face. Not only does this wash away oil, sweat, pillow residue, etc. to provide a clean canvas for makeup but I think of it as a cup off coffee for my face. Splashing cold water at 5 a.m. on my face? That will wake me up.

I am still using this Garnier wash, even though I am not in love with it, I am trying to get through it and move on to a normal cleanser.

morning skincare-2

Next I use a pump of moisturizer. (Fun fact: no one told me I needed a face moisturizer until I was 21 and I had been using body lotion.) Currently I am using the Neutrogena Combination Skin Moisturizer, it can be used day and night which is great as I don’t need to find and incorporate a separate product at night. This is a very lightweight moisturizer that sinks in fast and sometimes leaves my skin wanting more but no matter because the next step takes care of those especially thirsty patches.

For the the sides of my nose, the area that seems to drink up moisturizer and looks the least cute after foundation, I use jojoba oil. I also use it on the are between my bottom lip and my chin, an area that like my nose was looking dry and horrible with foundation. Without getting into scientific detail, these areas are where I have sebaceous filaments that do not always go away after a face scrub.

(The theory is that jojoba oil has a structure similar to our natural face oils and it tricks the skin into thinking “There is enough oil there, guess it’s time to stop producing more!” Hence it is good for oily skin, sebaceous filaments, and a plethora of other things.)

morning skincare-4

The last part of my morning routine is sunscreen, currently using the Garnier Skin Renew Dark Spot Anti-Sun Damage. For some stupid reason I put this off the longest until the Beauty Concierge at Target guilted me into being responsible. I thought that because I work in an office and I don’t get a lot of sun generally, I didn’t need it. Turns out, damaging rays (UV/UVA) don’t care. They come in through windows, they come down through gray clouds and sunless skies, they can even emanate from lightbulbs! As a result, I now apply sunscreen everyday even if I am staying home all day. It also adds a touch more of moisture to my skin.

This is more or less a basic skin care routine and it is better than no routine in my opinion. Thus far this is working for me and even though it is not a comprehensive or perfect routine, I think it is important that I am developing the habit of going through this every day. If for some reason I don’t, my face feels disgusting and then I end up going through the routine anyway.

Tips, comments, critiques are welcome below of course 🙂

Bis gleich and don’t forget to follow!

 

3 thoughts on “My Morning Skincare Routine

  1. Pingback: Night Time Skin Care Routine

  2. Pingback: Mario Badescu A.H.A. & Ceramide Moisturizer | Moscato & Mascara

Leave a Reply

