Night Time Skin Care Routine

Night Time Skincare header

When my mom first made me wash my face on a daily basis 12 or so years ago, I would find any way to weasel out of it. Fast forward to today, the idea of washing my face and going through my full skin care routine is what makes my drive home after work bearable. Last week I put up my morning skin care routine and now I am following that with my night time routine, which I promise is easier than it looks!

Context: I have oily skin, average pores, not acne prone but I do have sebaceous filaments on my nose and between my chin and lower lip.

Bioderma

I always start by removing my makeup and for that I use a micellar water. Currently I am using Bioderma, in fact I just opened my second bottle of it and can’t wait to stock up when I go to Europe next  One or two cotton rounds with Bioderma remove just about everything but that is not enough. I follow that with face wash to remove any leftover makeup and daily grime. I was using the Garnier Clean+ Blackhead Eliminating Scrub but it ran out just as I was planning this post.

About that: I will not be purchasing this again. The small charcoal bits can cling to my skin after rinsing, drying, and moisturizing plus my face feels tight and dry afterward. I just bought a new product that is putting this to shame 😉

nightime skincare-4

Twice a week and never on the same day I use the Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay as a mask or I use the Peter Lamas Exfoliating Pumpkin Facial Scrub. The Aztec clay helps control my face’s oil production and the pumpkin scrub exfoliates dead skin cells away to keep my face smooth.

nightime skincare-2

Mascara can be a real clingy bitch, so use a q-tip with Bioderma to remove the last of the mascara and eyeliner. Now that all my makeup is finally gone, I use Thayer’s Witch Hazel Toner on a cotton round all over my face. It smells lovely, I have the rose petal scent, and adds a bit of moisture back into my skin. (I have heard it helps refine pores however I cannot vouch for that, sadly.)

nightime skincare-3

And just like in the morning, I finish with jojoba oil and moisturizer. A dab of jojoba oil is enough for my nose and lower lip area, both of which suffer from sebaceous filaments that feel bumpy. Since using the jojoba oil daily, both areas of my face feel much smoother and foundation looks  better. Finally, I use my Neutrogena Combination Skin Moisturizer to, well…moisturize haha.

Anf that is my full nigh time routine! Even as I proof read this it looks and feels arduous, in reality it takes no more than ten minutes (except the Aztec clay, that takes longer). As a teenager I saw a five step routine in Bazaar or similar magazine and I clearly remember thinking: “Ughh, that is soo much work! So what if I have a little leftover mascara?”

But we only get one skin and we need to take care of it. I don’t know about you but I want to look like Helen Mirren or Meryl Streep or RuPaul when I’m pushing 50, 60, etc. And if any of you are like me a month ago, googling skin care routines to create your own, I hope this was somewhat useful 🙂

Bis gleich and don’t forget to follow!

One thought on “Night Time Skin Care Routine

Leave a Reply

