E.L.F. “Blush” Gotta Glow

 

E.L.F. Blush Gotta GlowAs a precursor to a post I have planned for next week, I want to tell you about the E.L.F. Blush in Gotta Glow. While doing a random internet search I read that this was a dupe for NARS’ Albatross, a claim I cannot validate as I don’t own the latter but nonetheless intrigued me. As you might be able to tell from the pumpkin candle in the background, I have had this for several months and going through photos recently I realized, it is time for a review.

Starting with the blatantly obvious: this is not a blush. It may be labeled as a blush but it is clearly, clearly a highlighter. A powder highlighter to be even clearer.

E.L.F. Blush Gotta Glow

This highlighter is part of the E.L.F. Studio line and comes in a matte black case with a slim window to peek the color within and a slim mirror on the inside. It contains 4.75g of product and it only costs $3.

It took me a while to find it in stock at Target but the wait was worth it. Sure, I could have ordered it from the E.L.F. website but I didn’t want to pay shipping. Who does?

E.L.F. Blush Gotta Glow

This is a white-gold highlight with a bit of glitter. On the left is a pure swatch and on the right I tried to blend it out with my fingers. Note to self: do swtaches with brushes for a more accurate result. Speaking of brushes, for this highlighter I recommend using a round, tapered brush and not a fan brush and I say that because of the product’s texture. The powder is on the drier side, it is not super smooth, soft or buttery. A fan brush picks up hardly anything and that is ok if you want a very subtle look. If you want this highlighter to show you need a brush that will pick up product well.

But how well can a $3 drugstore highlighter perform? Pretty well I must say. Most days I forget to check how my highlighter is holding up but the white-gold effect of this product always has me saying, “Dang! It’s still there?” Three dollars well spent.

Bis gleich and don’t forget to follow!

3 thoughts on “E.L.F. “Blush” Gotta Glow

  1. Pingback: Makeup Revolution Vivid Baked Highlighter in Golden Lights | Moscato & Mascara

Leave a Reply

