E.L.F. Shimmer Powder in Pink

elf shimmer

Today I have yet another product that has been in my collection for months, that I have used plenty of times, and that I have failed to mention on my blog. Even though I mentioned the E.L.F. Shimmer Powder in my February Favorites I keep forgetting to talk about it and to write about this hidden gem of a highlighter. If you’re looking for a good and budget friendly highlighter, you may want to read on.

I don’t know how long ago E.L.F. released this product, but the packaging tells me it was a while ago. Probably before highlighting became the trend as this is called a Shimmer Powder, mine is in the shade pink. This is from their Essentials line and comes in the basic white and clear packaging from that line and costs $2. A measly $2.

ELF Shimmer Powder pink

Inside you have a small brush that isn’t anything special but it can get the job done. Underneath the brush is a small mirror, which is about the size of my thumb. As for the powder itself, there is a whopping 6g (or .2oz) of product in there. Unless you highlight your entire face, 6g is sure to last a long time.

The texture of this powder is not perfect or mind blowing, I did not expect that for the price anyway. It is smooth and soft so brushes can pick up a decent amount of product, however that also means that it kicks up a decent amount of product. As you can kind of see, after a while when the top layer has worn off the texture begins to get grainy. Not significant but I have seen people complain about that with other products and thought I’d mention it.

ELF Shimmer Powder pink

What matters most is how it looks on the skin, and I think it looks wonderful. Although it is in the shade Pink, in the pan it looks like a baby, soft, bridal pink and it wears lighter than the above swatch. It also looks shimmery here but unless you build it up, and it is buildable, it gives more of a soft sheen. Because it is light and buildable, I think this could be ideal for someone new to highlighters. Longevity is not the best, it has not survived a work day I believe, but again for $2 I’m not upset.

The other downside is the availability. So far I have only seen the Shimmer Powders at WalMart, on the E.L.F. website, and a few times at the Dollar Tree. Is it a must have? No. Is it worth hunting down? Not really. But if you stumble upon it, why not?

Bis gleich and don’t forget to follow!

 

 

 

One thought on “E.L.F. Shimmer Powder in Pink

  1. Pingback: Drugstore Highlighters | $10 Or Less | Moscato & Mascara

Leave a Reply

