Why I Cancelled My Ipsy Subscription

Why I Cancelled My Ipsy Subscription

I did it! I finally cancelled my Ipsy subscription, I feel great, and I’m going to tell you all about it. Get ready. 

I was subscribed to Ipsy for seven or eight months and I spent half of those on the fence. Sure it only cost me $11 a month (CA taxes) and once in a while I received a product that more than paid for itself and sometimes I received real gems, but those felt too far and few between.

More often than not I received products from brands I had never heard of and repeated shades of lipstick or nail polish. The rewards point system is dismal and at one point last month you could redeem points for Essence products. Essence! I like Essence but it would be better to drive down to Ulta and pick up their products than to give up 250 points worth of reviews for some lip crayon.

Speaking of reviews: do they count for any bag customization? I think not. How about the makeup personality quiz? Nope. Oh and how about that time I needed to contact customer service but they’re only available over email or social media and it took over two weeks to get anything resolved and they tried to blame me? Ugh.

Again, it is only $11 a month but my gripe is that they over promise and rarely deliver. They advertise Urban Decay, NYX, Tarte, etc. as if they come in every bag and they advertise tailoring bags to your taste. I have received more useless than useful products so I think I’ll save my $11 and buy products I know I will be happy with. BYE!

 

PS. Nobody wants your crappy Em Beauty makeup.

 

5 thoughts on “Why I Cancelled My Ipsy Subscription

  1. I have been toying with the idea of canceling Ipsy. I wish that Sephora’s Play box was available everywhere or Target had an actual subscription. I would replace it in a heartbeat.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

