2016 Favorites

2016 favorites

We are two weeks into the new year, how is 2017 treating everyone so far? I have been busy or tired, like I went to bed at 7:00 p.m. last night, and have a life update coming soon. I tried to prepare this post last month before l went on vacation and I took a different approach. Instead of digging through my collection for an hour looking for favorites, I grabbed the first things that came to mind. I figured that was the most honest way to do this, or the laziest. Any products I forgot will be mentioned at the end.2016 favorites

Bye Bye Blemish 

A drugstore dupe for Mario Badescu’s Drying Lotion, I became a believer this over summer. Acne is not a daily concern of mine but once in a while something will pop up, and sometimes it feels like a blueberry sized bump on my shoulder. I bought this on one such day, applied it at night, and the next day the blueberry was gone. It hasn’t worked on smaller pimples as well though I do have a feeling it keeps them from growing worse, very scientific I know.

Mario Badescu A.H.A. & Ceramide Moisturizer

This moisturizer is a pretty penny, compared to my usual products, and it’s worth it to me. For some reason I am quite skeptical about product claims, might be fear of wasting my money, but this one lives up to it’s claims. It moisturizes with a pearl sized amount and it keeps my oily skin matte, or at least it helps keep the oils away for an extra minute.

Jersey Shore Spa Anti Aging Lip & Hand Polish

I have two lip scrubs and this is the one I reach for and would repurchase, if I could find it in stores. I prefer the tube packaging to the lipstick or the pot, it feels more hygienic to squeeze out a drop and use it than using a lipstick that could have dead skin cells from previous use. It also….

2016 favorites

Wet n Wild Megaglo Contour Palette

Who didn’t love this contour platte this year? It was super affordable and it made contouring as easy as it could get. I joined the makeup community at the peak of the contouring craze and I tried a few products, bronzers and palettes, yet it was this $4 palette that I liked the most. This is the only product in my collection that has even a dip in it, not counting my most beloved eyeshadow.

L’Oréal Infallible Pro-Matte 24HR Foundation

Take this away from me, I dare you. I don’t believe the 24-hour claim and it’s not perfect, but I love it nonetheless. After further use I see it’s not as full coverage as I initially reviewed but it does even out my skin tone while showing an imperfection or two, giving a more natural look. It’s lightweight, easy to apply with a brush, lasts the workday, and it’s a great color match. I’m curious to try the new Total Coverage foundation this year.

 Carli Bybel x BH Cosmetics Palette

Another hit from BH Cosmetics. Alright, I don’t use this palette as much as I should but that doesn’t make it any less of a favorite, it simply belongs in my so-pretty-I’m-scared-t0-use-up-even-though-I-can-buy-another. It’s weird, I’m weird for it, shush. Every time I reach for this palette I forget how pretty and easy to use this palette this and every time it blows me away.

2016 favorites

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream

This year I joined the hype train for these lip cremes, I wanted to wear these every day. The mousse-like formula is easy to apply, use, and clean up while also comfortable on the lips. You can feel it for a few minutes but overall I found them very comfortable. The shade selection is a plus but I wonder if I like these more because they are all named after cities…

Vaseline Lip Therapy

I included this tin in my Winter Essentials and it’s actually a life essential. I bought one years ago at Primark and I’m so happy they are available in the states now. Sure we had them in the mini jar form but I much prefer these, they feel cleaner and are oh so much cuter. Oh, and they keep my lips soft and moisturized, the Rosy Lips version also adds a hint of color for a fresh look.

2016 favorites

OGX Moisture + Vitamin B5 Weightless Oil Mist

You don’t know how much you depend on a product until you have to vacation without it. I recently reviewed it and here is a quick summery: it gives a healthy shine to blow dried hair while helping repair stressed locks. Another product that lived up to it’s claims in 2016.

BED HEADCurlipops 1″ Tourmaline Ceramic Tapered Styling Iron

It took me a few years but I finally bought a curling wand and I adore it! It heats up fairly quickly, it is easy to use, and my hair actually keeps the curls. A true feat. I do wish it had more controls, it only has “On/Off”, but I love it nonetheless and my hair has been curled most days since I bought this wand.

2016 favorites

Wet n Wild Wildshine Nail Polish in Kaleidoscope

If I stood this polish upright I think it would be half empty, it was my go-to for an easy accent nail. It’s a clear polish with glitter of different sizes that gives nails dimension rather than a simple silver glitter look.

Isana Nagellack Entferner (Nail Polish Remover)

This is my favorite polish remover not just because the almond smell is nostalgic of my time in Germany but also because it works. It seems silly that one polish remover could be better than another but I used the Beauty 365 brand, Up & Up (and I loooove Up & Up products), and it felt like those required some elbow grease compared to this. I’ll keep buying this when I visit Germany.

2016 favorites

Freesia Ultra Shea Body Cream

Freesia anything from Bath & Body Works really, if I ever see it in stores again you can bet that I’m stocking up. I did switch from their lotions to body creams this year but anything freesia scented was the real winner. Unlike other scents that smell floral or whatever but always with a hint of synthetic, I thought this actually smelled like fresh freesia with a hint of broken twig, it was the most realistic scent I think I have ever come across.

Pacifica Underarm Deodorant Wipes

I went into enough detail with Bye Bye Blemish, I won’t go into it with these haha. But they are here for a reason.

2016 favorites

Bath & Body Works Wallflowers & Refills

When I finally had my own place I ran out and bought these, on sale of course. One for my bathroom and one for my bedroom, and my favorite scent is A Thousand Wishes which I keep in my bedroom. They come in a variety of scents and work best in medium sized rooms like a bedroom, I think they can be a bit potent for smaller bathrooms (probably great for master bathrooms) and too weak for my living room which opens to the kitchen.

I bought the plainest Wallflower Plugs which double as night lights, great for bathrooms!

Calvin Klein Euphoria Blossom

I must admit this is partially on here for the nostalgia factor, I bought this in college and wore it all of fall semester my sophomore year. I rediscovered it this fall and wore it all fall again. It’s floral but not over the top, elegant but not matronly. My goal is to finish this bottle in 2017, I’ve had it for so long it is time to finish it, and then rediscover another college scent to finish. I bought a lot of perfume that semester.

So a few that I forgot to photograph but are favorites nonetheless:

Milani’s Luminoso – Worth. The. Hype. My biggest Youtube-made-me-buy-it product of the year and it was so worth the search, the wait, and the CVS price tag.

Real Techniques Expert Face Brush – I have three or four brushes I use for foundation, this is my favorite. The bristles aren’t so dense that the brush becomes stuff and  shape makes it easy to apply foundation to the contours of my eyes and under my eyes (when I skip concealer).

BH Cosmetics Bombshell Bronzer in Starlet – Just thinking about it I want to wear it to day, a cold January day that will consist of potato chips and football. I went from “Who needs bronzer?” to “I need this on my face!” It is on the shimmery side and it doesn’t look exactly natural and it is perfect for summer.

Physicians Formula Sexy Boost Cat Eyes Mascara – For sexy volume and a wispy finish, this $10 mascara is it. It isn’t wet, it isn’t heavy, it doesn’t look unnatural and for that I will overlook the synthetic vanilla scent. As much as I like this mascara and it really is a favorite, I have trouble justifying the price for a mascara that seems to dry up faster than most.

I am so behind on reading your blogs and what’s new in makeup, hopefully I can use this three day weekend to catch up.

Bis gleich!

One thought on “2016 Favorites

  1. That Carli Bybel x BH Cosmetics Palette surprised me. The highlighters in that palette are really outstanding quality.
    Ooh that WnW polish in Kaleidoscope looks so pretty!
    I have that Bath & Body Works “A Thousand Wishes” in a body butter – it smells amazing.
    Enjoyed reading your list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

